What to Do in a Hit and Run


Hit and run accidents are some of the most devastating traffic incidents. Not only can you sustain property damage to your vehicle, you could also get seriously hurt. To be struck by a careless driver in a 2-ton machine and be left abandoned on the road is an unbelievably selfish thing for a driver to impose on another.

The law mandates that drivers involved in a collision exchange contact and insurance information. It also requires drivers to render aid for bodily injuries, even if they're minimal. So, while the at-fault driver breaks the law to likely evade penalties (such drivers are nearly impossible to track down), you're left with the expensive unexpected consequences of a New Jersey hit and run car accident. What should you do?

Immediate actions

As with any other car accident, the first steps you should take are to report the accident and check yourself into a medical facility. Before anything, report the incident to police and your insurance company while the details are still fresh in your mind. If you are seriously injured you should immediately summon an ambulance to get you to safety. Otherwise, get checked by a physician as soon as possible.

Many times accident victims sustain injuries they don't notice until days or weeks later. This is because victims go into shock. Serious collisions can cause long-term health effects, so you'll want to note these as soon as possible, especially considering New Jersey's statute of limitations for personal injury is 2 years.

Once you are receiving medical attention and the accident has been reported, it is vital that you contact a specialized personal injury attorney in New Jersey who handles hit and runs. Having professional knowledge of the court system and a thorough understanding of New Jersey traffic laws, an attorney is highly capable of maneuvering the confusing process of filing insurance claims. This is your best shot at claiming every cent you deserve.

Your Rights after a Hit and Run

If you are the victim of a hit and run in New Jersey, you have the right to file a personal injury claim for damages. Since the at-fault driver is not in the picture at this point, your insurance company will be the one paying for damages. New Jersey standard insurance policy requires all drivers carry a minimum of $15,000 in uninsured motorist coverage, although it is always advised to have more than the minimum. A New Jersey hit and run lawyer can help you claim every penny you deserve in this situation. Call James Vasquez at (862) 247-8711 for a free legal consultation.